Rohit Sharma Appointed Group India’s Captain In ODIs And T20Is, Vice-captain In Exams

Rohit Sharma was once on Wednesday appointed captain of Group India in one-day internationals, taking on from Virat Kohli. The hole batter was once additionally appointed vice-captain in Exams, changing Ajinkya Rahane. Rohit have been appointed captain of the T20I staff ultimate month, for the house collection in opposition to New Zealand. NDTV had reported previous that a whole alternate of guard in white-ball cricket was once approaching.

BCCI introduced the verdict along side the 18-member squad for the impending three-match Take a look at collection in opposition to South Africa, with the primary Take a look at beginning in Centurion from December 26.

“The All-India Senior Variety Committee additionally determined to call Mr Rohit Sharma because the Captain of the ODI & T20I groups going ahead,” BCCI’s tweet mentioned.

The 18-member squad for the Take a look at suits will likely be led via Virat Kohli and Rohit will likely be his deputy. Ajinkya Rahane, whose efficiency with the bat has been beneath scanner for some time, has been incorporated within the squad.

KL Rahul, who overlooked the house collection in opposition to New Zealand because of damage, is again and so are the likes of Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur and premier paceman Jasprit Bumrah, all of whom had been rested for the two-match collection in opposition to the Kiwis.

Each Ravindra Jadeja and opening batter Shubman Gill weren’t decided on because of accidents. Off spinner Jayant Yadav retained his place along side Ravichandran Ashwin. Wriddhiman Saha is the back-up wicket-keeper after a just right collection with each bat and gloves in opposition to the Kiwis, whilst Hanuma Vihari has made a comeback to the squad after a just right day trip with the India A staff at the contemporary excursion of South Africa.

Group India complete squad for Take a look at collection vs South Africa:

Virat Kohli (Capt),Rohit Sharma(vc), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(wk), Wriddhiman Saha(wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Rohit taking on the reins in white-ball cricket is usually a transfer aimed giving him an excellent likelihood to construct a staff forward of the ICC International Cup at house in 2023. This brings the curtains down on Kohli’s generation as captain of the ODI staff, which has been an exceptionally a hit duration for the staff, excluding the truth that he did not win any giant ICC trophy.


Kohli captain the staff to the overall of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017 and the semi-final of the ICC International Cup in 2019. He has 70 % win ratio in ODIs, profitable 65 of the 95 suits he led the staff in.

Subjects discussed on this article

Leave a Reply

© WADESZIG 2022 | Designed by PixaHive.