Goa Election Details That Will Blow Your Thoughts

Goa Election Facts That Will Blow Your Mind

Overcoming anti-incumbency, the BJP on Thursday emerged as the one greatest birthday celebration in Goa through successful 20 meeting seats, only one shy of the midway mark. Congress, alternatively, completed 2nd with 11 seats.

Listed here are some fascinating details in regards to the Goa elections:

  1. The Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC), which contested the Goa Meeting elections for the primary time this yr, didn’t make a mark within the coastal state. The TMC took a plunge into Goa’s electoral politics a couple of months sooner than the polls, hung on February 14, and contested in 26 seats in alliance with the MGP, the state’s oldest regional outfit.

  2. Each Deputy Leader Ministers of Goa misplaced Meeting elections to their nearest Congress competitors on Thursday. Deputy Leader Minister Manohar Ajgaonkar used to be defeated through Chief of Opposition and Congress candidate Digambar Kamat. Mr Manohar left MGP to sign up for BJP in 2019. The second one Deputy Leader Minister within the Pramod Sawant-led cupboard, Chandrakant Kavlekar, misplaced to Congress candidate Altone D’Costa in Quepem. Mr Kavlekar had received from Quepem in 2017 on a Congress price tag. He shifted to the BJP in 2019.

  3. The brand new Goa Meeting could have 3 pairs of husband and spouse amongst its 40 contributors. Vishwajit Rane and his spouse Divya received with ease on BJP tickets from Valpoi and Poriem Meeting seats, respectively. Congress’ Michael Lobo received from his conventional Meeting constituency Calangute, whilst spouse Delilah received from Siolim, additionally at the Congress price tag. BJP’s Atanasio Monserratte received from Panaji, whilst his spouse Jeniffer received from Taleigao.

  4. Progressive Goans, Goa’s youngest political birthday celebration that started off as a social organisation of children to maintain the rights of individuals of Goan starting place, received one seat. The Progressive Goans, which guarantees to be the voice of Goa’s formative years within the Meeting, used to be registered as a political birthday celebration with the Election Fee of India just lately in January

  5. Aleix Reginaldo, who received as Impartial and prolonged fortify to the BJP, emerged as a key participant within the Goa Meeting elections. He left Congress to sign up for the Trinamool Congress in December 2021. Then again, he hand over the TMC inside of a month, however used to be now not taken again into Congress. Mr Reginaldo after all contested the election as an Impartial candidate.

  6. The Aam Aadmi Birthday party (AAP) made an access into the Goa Legislative Meeting through successful two seats. AAP’s Captain Venzy Viegas and Cruz Silva received in Benaulim and Velim, respectively.

  7. 19 MLAs elected to the 40-member Goa Meeting are first-timers. Of those, 8 MLAs are from Congress, 5 from the BJP, two from Aam Aadmi Birthday party, two Independents and one from the Progressive Goans. 

Leave a Reply