Cricket returns to Windsor Park as WI, Bangladesh fine-tune T20 World Cup plans

Bangladesh are lacking Mushfiqur and Yasir whilst the hosts have made a quantity of modifications to their squad

Five years after a exciting end between West Indies and Pakistan elicited this response from Fazeer Mohammed at Windsor Park, we are again right here as soon as again.

The T20I sequence opener between West Indies and Bangladesh will be the first fit at the venue in 5 years and first seeing that the Covid-19 pandemic struck.

The lack of latest aggressive cricket at the venue ability that the pitch is an unknown volume as West Indies and Bangladesh construct in the direction of the T20 World Cup, which starts in October in Australia.

West Indies final performed T20I cricket in February and Bangladesh in March. The hosts have made a quantity of modifications in a bid to discern out their nice XI. Bangladesh, meanwhile, lack self assurance in this format. The 2-0 defeat in the previous Test collection solely provides to their troubles.

Bangladesh’s everyday floor fielding and catching additionally got here beneath scrutiny in the Test series. Mahmudullah will now have to drag Bangladesh out of the mire, with the likes of Afif Hossain, Munim Shahriar and Mustafizur Rahman amongst the white-ball specialists.

Anamul Haque, Mosaddek Hossain, Nurul Hasan and Mehidy Hasan Miraz are additionally again in the T20I squad. Shahriar is a newcomer, having made his debut in opposition to Afghanistan on the again of a glowing BPL season.

West Indies’ new-look squad will be led via Nicholas Pooran whose latest white-ball structure isn’t always encouraging. Pooran and new vice-captain Rovman Powell will have to lead the center order in the absence of the now-retired Kieron Pollard.

Among the batting preferences are Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers and Devon Thomas, whilst Odean Smith is an allrounder in the mold of Andre Russell.

Obed McCoy, Alzarri Joseph and Keemo Paul are amongst the bowlers making comebacks. Left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie is the 1/3 spinner in the squad at the back of Akeal Hosein and Hayden Walsh Jr.

Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman are Bangladesh’s strike bowlers in T20 cricket, however Nasum Ahmed is now not too a long way behind. In the previous 12 months, he has taken 35 wickets at an common of 17.45 and economic system charge of 6.07.

Nasum is regarded for various his tempo effectively, having completed it at domestic in opposition to Australia, New Zealand, Pakistan and Afghanistan recently. If Windsor Park does assist the spinners, Bangladesh will be assured of Shakib, Nasum, Mahedi Hasan and Mehidy Hasan Miraz countering West Indies.

After his Player-of-the-Series overall performance in the Test series, all eyes will be on Kyle Mayers. The 29-year-old struck his 2nd Test century, supporting West Indies out of a tight spot in St Lucia, and can additionally make a contribution with the ball.

He will open the batting in a line-up with apparently much less trip now, so Mayers have to recognize his function clearly. That he has the wooden over Bangladesh may make things less complicated for him.

Team news

West Indies have six spots open considering that their ultimate T20I in opposition to India in February. Brooks, King and Thomas are probably to discover themselves in the pinnacle six, whilst Odean Smith will probably have a crack at the lower-middle order.

West Indies (probable): 1 Kyle Mayers, two Brandon King, three Shamarh Brooks, four Nicholas Pooran (capt & wk), 5 Rovman Powell, 6 Devon Thomas, 7 Odean Smith, eight Alzarri Joseph, 9 Romario Shepherd, 10 Akeal Hosein, eleven Hayden Walsh Jr

Bangladesh have been depleted by using the absence of Mushfiqur Rahim and Yasir Ali. Mahmudullah and Afif Hossain need to be capable to fill that void, however that would possibly go away them with a lengthy tail.

Bangladesh (probable): 1 Munim Shahriar, two Litton Das (wk), three Shakib Al Hasan, four Mahmudullah (capt), 5 Afif Hossain, 6 Nurul Hasan, 7 Mahedi Hasan, eight Taskin Ahmed, 9 Nasum Ahmed, 10 Shoriful Islam, eleven Mustafizur Rahman,55408723.html

Leave a Reply